Kent State Architecture Building

The Ohio Philosophical Association has existed as a section of the Ohio College Association since 1931.  The College Association was founded in 1867.

The Ohio Philosophical Association has as its purpose the encouragement of "research in philosophy in the colleges and universities in Ohio."  The membership comprises all those who teach philosophy in institutions which are members of the Ohio College Association and those who are members of this Association at the age of retirement.  Also, all who pay dues are members.

The voting membership comprises all who are part of the email list.  To join the OPA list, please e-mail the secretary-treasurer.  Institutions may become members by the payment of annual dues.


The 2022 Annual Meeting will be held at the University of Akron on April 23, 2022. Stephen Engstrom, Professor of Philosophy at the University of Pittsburgh, will be presenting the keynote address, "Truth in Knowledge and Truth in Action."  For the Call for Papers, please see the Announcement. For past meetings, visit the online Archives of the Ohio Philosophical Association

For this year's program, please see 2022 Annual Meeting Program. A Digital Concierge is available. It contains a digital program, accommodations information, and things to do in Akron.

To register please use this link and submit your Registration Form. Please register in advance as we need to have a head count for breakfast and lunch, which are provided as part of your registration fees.